Archive for the ‘Congo’ Category

DDTC/State Updates Its Policy for Democratic Republic of the Congo

Friday, April 16th, 2010 by John Black


By: John Black

DDTC has had an arms embargo on the Democratic Republic of the Congo for several years consistent with the United Nations Security Council arms embargo.  DDTC recently announced it has modified its embargo to be consistent with the modified Security Council embargo and that it will publish an official notice in the Federal Register someday to that effect.

In short, the DDTC embargo on DR Congo prohibits all exports and imports of ITAR items except:

  • Items going to the DR Congo Government as notified in advance to the Committee of the Security Council  concerning the DR Congo.
  • Items going to UN Mission for DR Congo
  • Temporary exports for personal use of protective clothing, including flak jackets and helmets, for UN personnel, news media personnel, and development workers
  • Non-lethal items solely for humanitarian or protective use.


OFAC Regs Focus on Congo Bad Guys and Companies They Control

Friday, May 1st, 2009 by Danielle McClellan


By: Danielle McClellan

OFAC has issued regulations to implement Executive Order 13413 which was issued two and a half years ago. The Executive Order imposed sanctions against those who commit human rights abuses in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The DRC Sanction Regulations are targeted sanctions that are only directed at certain persons and not generally the country or government itself, these individuals are listed on OFAC’s Specially Designated Nationals List. (more…)

State Clarifies UN Sanctioned Countries in ITAR

Wednesday, December 19th, 2007 by Danielle McClellan


By: Danielle McClellan

On December 19, 2007, the Department of State issued an amendment to the International Traffic in Arms Regulations concerning exports and sales which were prohibited by United Nations Security Council embargoes. The amended list will add countries subject to such embargos. The current list includes: Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Iraq, Iran, Lebanon, Liberia, North Korea, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, and Sudan.

More information:

Federal Register 72FR71575.pdf (PDF)

State Modifies Denial Policy for Democratic Republic of the Congo

Tuesday, February 17th, 2004 by John Black


By: John Black

The Directorate for Defense Trade Controls (DTC) announced a new policy for transfers under the International Traffic in Arms Regulations to the Democratic Republic of the Congo. In the February 17, 2004 Federal Register DTC announced that licenses may be approved for:

  • Non-lethal equipment and training to the United Nations Organization Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUC), the Interim Emergency Multinational Force deployed in Bunia, and the integrated Congolese national army and police force; and
  • Humanitarian or protective use, and related assistance and training as notified in advance to the United Nations.

DTC took these actions consistent with UN Security Council Resolution 1493 (July 28, 2003) that imposed an arms embargo on forces in operating in the territory of North and South Kivu and of Ituri and to groups not party to the Global and All-Inclusive Agreement, in the Congo. The UN embargo includes the same two exceptions as described above in the ITAR.

State Removes Two Countries from ITAR Proscribed Countries List

Wednesday, January 9th, 2002 by John Black


By: John Black

In the January 9, 2002 Federal Register, the Office of Defense Trade Controls (ODTC) amended the International Traffic in Arms Regulations by removing Tajikistan and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) from the list of proscribed countries in section 126.1 of the ITAR. This means it is no longer ODTC policy to deny licenses and agreements for these two countries and you may use license exemptions for these two countries. It also means that you no longer need ODTC approval for sending proposals (unless, of course, the proposals contain controlled technical data or the proposals are the type that require prior approval or notice for non-proscribed countries). ODTC also amended the ITAR to change the proscribed country “Zaire” to “the Democratic Republic of the Congo (formerly Zaire)”.

The proscribed countries are: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Vietnam, Burma, China, Haiti, Liberia, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan and Democratic Republic of the Congo.